- The Washington Times - Saturday, July 31, 2004


President Bush on Friday announced his intention to make 20 appointments during the congressional recess, including a new chairman of the Federal Trade Commission, a manufacturing czar and three ambassadors.

For FTC chairman, Mr. Bush intends to appoint Deborah Majoras of Virginia to replace Timothy J. Muris, who is stepping down. Mrs. Majoras, a former Justice Department deputy assistant attorney general, was one of the lead lawyers in the government’s antitrust lawsuit against Microsoft Corp.

Mrs. Majoras’ nomination has been blocked in the Senate by Sen. Ron Wyden, Oregon Democrat, who said there was no evidence she would change FTC policies that he says benefit oil companies and hurt consumers. By making the appointment during the congressional recess, Mr. Bush avoids the need for Senate confirmation.

Mr. Wyden said he hoped “that this undemocratic process for naming a new chair won’t result in consumers being hammered with high gas prices again and again.”

Jon Leibowitz of Maryland will be appointed to another seat on the five-member FTC. Mrs. Majoras and Mr. Leibowitz, like the other recess appointees, will serve until the end of 2005.

Mr. Bush also plans to nominate Albert Frink Jr. of California as assistant secretary of commerce for manufacturing and services. Mr. Bush’s first pick for the manufacturing post, Nebraska business executive Tony Raimondo, was criticized for cutting U.S. jobs and shifting work to China.

The president also announced the following nominations:

• Paul Jones of Colorado to be a member of the Internal Revenue Service Oversight Board.

• Jonathan Dudas of Virginia to be undersecretary of commerce for intellectual property and director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

• Enrique Sosa of Florida to be a member of the Amtrak reform board.

• Richard Wagner of Florida to be a member of the National Institute for Literacy Advisory Board.

• Stephen Johnson of Maryland to be deputy administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency.

• Carin Barth of Texas to be chief financial officer of the Housing and Urban Development Department.

• Gary Lee Visscher of Maryland to be a member of the Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board.

• Ricardo Hinojosa of Texas to be chairman of the United States Sentencing Commission.

• Susan Johnson Grant of Virginia to be chief financial officer at the Energy Department.

• James Kunder of Virginia to be assistant administrator of the U.S. Agency for International Development in the bureau for Asia and the Near East.

• John Rood of Florida to be ambassador to the Bahamas.

• Charles Graves Untermeyer of Texas to be ambassador to Qatar.

• Aldona Wos of North Carolina to be ambassador to Estonia.

• Scott Kevin Walker of Wisconsin to be a member of the advisory board of the St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corp.

• Roger Wallace and Jack Vaughn of Texas and Nadine Hogan of Florida to be members of the board of directors of the Inter-American Foundation.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide