- The Washington Times - Sunday, May 25, 2008

DISTANCE — 500 miles; 200 laps around the asphalt-on-brick Indianapolis Motor Speedway track, a 2½-mile rectangular oval.

SANCTIONING BODY — Indy Racing League; also open to USAC, NASCAR, SCCA, Formula One and other drivers through international FIA listing.

RACE CARS — Open-cockpit, open-wheel and single-seat, with 3.5-liter, 650-horsepower normally-aspirated Honda HI7R Indy V-8 engines.

PACE CAR — Chevrolet Corvette Z06, driven by two-time Indy winner Emerson Fittipaldi.

START — 1 p.m. from a flying start, following warmup, parade and pace laps.

FINISH — Standings are unofficial until posted by the IRL.

NUMBER OF STARTERS — 33 cars, three abreast in each of 11 rows.

POLE POSITION — Scott Dixon, who averaged 226.366 mph in four-lap qualifications. Will start first, the inside of the front row.

SLOWEST QUALIFIER — Marty Roth, who averaged 218.965 mph. Will start 33rd, the outside of the 11th row.

FASTEST ROOKIE — Hideki Mutoh, 223.887 mph. Will start ninth, the outside of the third row.

2007 WINNER — Dario Franchitti, who averaged 151.744 mph in a race shortened to 415 miles by rain. Franchitti, now racing in NASCAR, is not entered this year.

FORMER WINNERS IN RACE Buddy Lazier (1996), Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002), Buddy Rice (2004), Dan Wheldon (2005).

Associated Press

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide