- The Washington Times - Sunday, November 29, 2009

Russ Grimm, a Pro Bowl guard for the Washington Redskins each year from 1983 to 1986, was announced Saturday as one of 25 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Grimm, who played for the Redskins from 1981 to 1991 and coached for them from 1992 to 2000, is one of just two offensive linemen to survive the cut from 131 to 25.

Grimm’s former teammates Gary Clark, Joe Jacoby, Jim Lachey, Dexter Manley, Charles Mann, Brian Mitchell, Gerald Riggs, Joe Theismann and Doug Williams were all eliminated from consideration. Other players who spent some time with the Redskins - Larry Centers, Henry Ellard, Irving Fryar, Rich Gannon, Ken Harvey, Eric Metcalf, Reggie Roby and Frank Wycheck - were also eliminated.

The 50-year-old Grimm, the acknowledged leader of the Hogs who powered the Redskins to Super Bowl titles in 1982, 1987 and 1991, could be hurt by injuries that limited him to no more than nine starts in each of his final four seasons.

“There’s no real stats for offensive linemen,” Grimm said before he reached the final 10 but wasn’t elected in 2009. “We won three Super Bowls with three different quarterbacks, three different running backs, three different sets of wide receivers but pretty much the same guys up front. So there’s some [Hall of Fame] merit there. I’d love to see us go in as a group.”

Grimm, now the assistant head coach of the Arizona Cardinals, will compete for just three to five spots this year since all-time rushing leader Emmitt Smith and all-time leading receiver Jerry Rice are likely locks. The list will be reduced to 15 finalists Jan. 7.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide