- Associated Press - Monday, August 16, 2010

MILWAUKEE (AP) - The PGA of America president doesn’t expect any changes to the rule on Whistling Straits’ countless bunkers when the PGA Championship returns in five years.

The golf world was still reeling Monday over the two-shot penalty given to Dustin Johnson on the final hole when he grounded his 4-iron in the sand right of the fairway, not aware that he was in a bunker.

Johnson had a one-shot lead when he teed off on the 18th. He missed a 7-foot par putt to seemingly slip into a playoff. But when he learned he had let his club touch the sand during his pre-shot routine, Johnson added two shots to his score and tied for fifth.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide