- Associated Press - Thursday, December 9, 2010

LAKE BUENA VISTA, FLA. (AP) - Auburn quarterback Cam Newton has won the Maxwell Award presented annually to the nation’s best all-around college football player.

Newton is also the favorite to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night. He led the unbeaten Tigers (13-0) to the Southeastern Conference championship and a spot in the Bowl Championship Series national title game against Oregon.

The other finalists for the Maxwell Award were Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck and Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide