- Associated Press - Thursday, July 14, 2011

NEW YORK (AP) - Phoenix’s Diana Taurasi, Seattle’s Sue Bird and Indiana’s Tamika Catchings were voted as starters for the WNBA All-Star game again.

Catchings, who led all players with 32,706 votes, was joined by Fever teammate Katie Douglas, Atlanta’s Angel McCoughtry, Connecticut’s Tina Charles and New York’s Cappie Pondexter as Eastern Conference starters announced Thursday night.

Minnesota rookie Maya Moore, the Storm’s Swin Cash and injured Los Angeles center Candace Parker joined Taurasi and Bird _ second overall with 25,077 _ as starters for the West.

The All-Star game is July 23 in San Antonio.

Moore, with 21,379 votes, became the first rookie voted to start since Bird and Catchings in 2002.

“Any time the fans take the effort to reach out to show that they want to see you play and appreciate your game, it always feels great,” Moore said. “Especially being a rookie and new to the league.”

There was no game in 2008, when Parker was the league MVP and Rookie of the Year. The U.S. national team played a team of remaining All-Stars in 2004 _ when Taurasi went on to earn Rookie of the Year honors _ and last season, when Charles won the award.

Catchings (2002-03, ‘05-07, ‘09, ‘11), Bird (‘02-03, ‘05-07, ‘09, 11) and Taurasi (‘05-07, ‘09, ‘11) have been selected as starters in every All-Star game that has taken place since they have been in the league.

All-Star reserves will be announced on Tuesday.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide