- Associated Press - Monday, March 7, 2011

ATHENS, GA. (AP) - Larry King will host this year’s Peabody Awards ceremony.

King will announce the awards at the George Foster Peabody Awards at a May 23 ceremony in New York.

The award, which recognizes excellence in electronic media, was established in 1940 and is administered by the University of Georgia’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication.

There are no categories for entry and no nominations. Entries are judged by a 16-member board, which includes television critics, industry practitioners, scholars and experts in culture and fine arts.

King bagged two of the awards during his long career on the radio and TV. He won his first award in 1980 for his nightly syndicated radio program and a second in 1992 for election coverage on his CNN show.



Peabody Awards: https://www.peabody.uga.edu/

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide