- Associated Press - Saturday, November 12, 2011

LOS ANGELES (AP) - The first Academy Awards of the season will be presented Saturday night, capping a tumultuous week that saw the abrupt departure and rapid replacement of the Oscar show producer and host.

James Earl Jones and makeup artist Dick Smith will receive honorary Oscars for their long film careers, and Oprah Winfrey will accept the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences third annual Governors Awards.

Presentation of the honorary Oscars follows this week’s replacement of Oscar show producer Brett Ratner and host Eddie Murphy with Hollywood veterans Brian Grazer and Billy Crystal.

Winfrey’s Hersholt award honors her philanthropic and humanitarian contributions, including her own namesake foundations, and Jones and Smith will receive honorary Oscars for their outstanding careers.



Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide