- Associated Press - Wednesday, September 14, 2011

WASHINGTON (AP) — Jack Black, Conan O’Brien and Larry King will honor Will Ferrell with the nation’s top humor prize, along with Maya Rudolph and Molly Shannon from his “Saturday Night Live” days.

On Wednesday, the Kennedy Center announced a lineup of star comedians who will perform in Mr. Ferrell’s honor for the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor ceremony. They’ll salute him Oct. 23 in a performance taped for broadcast Oct. 31 on PBS stations nationwide.

Mr. Ferrell‘s longtime collaborator Adam McKay from the films “Anchorman,” ”Talladega Nights” and “The Other Guys” will appear, as well as Lorne Michaels, Paul Rudd, John C. Reilly and the rock band Green Day.

Mr. Ferrell starred on “Saturday Night Live” for seven seasons, perfecting his character “President George W. Bush.” He went on to create FunnyorDie.com with Mr. McKay in 2007 and took his Bush character to Broadway in 2009’s “You’re Welcome America: A Final Night With George W. Bush.”

His other impressions have included Janet Reno, Alex Trebek and Neil Diamond.

Mr. Ferrell got his start in comedy with the Los Angeles improv group the Groundlings, where he was discovered by “SNL.”

The Mark Twain Prize, now in its 14th year, recalls the social commentary and satire of Samuel Langhorne Clemens, the writer known as Mark Twain. Past winners include Tina Fey, Bill Cosby, Steve Martin and Lily Tomlin.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide