- Associated Press - Tuesday, June 5, 2012

PHILADELPHIA (AP) - James Earl Jones has been named the 2012 recipient of the Marian Anderson Award, which honors artists whose leadership benefits humanity.

The critically acclaimed stage and screen actor will accept the award at a Nov. 19 gala at the Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts in Philadelphia.

Pamela Browner White, chairwoman of the award’s board of directors, says Jones is an actor of intelligence and dignity who inspires others to pursue their dreams.

The Marian Anderson Award is named for the celebrated contralto and Philadelphia native, who in 1955 was the first black soloist at the Metropolitan Opera in New York. She died in 1993 at age 96.

Previous winners include Harry Belafonte, Sidney Poitier, Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Gere.



Marian Anderson Award: https://www.marianandersonaward.org

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide