- Associated Press - Friday, August 9, 2013

DAYTONA BEACH, FLA. (AP) - Fox Sports has signed a multi-year deals with the FIA Formula E Championship and the International Motor Sports Association.

Formula E, the world’s first fully electric racing series, will feature open-wheel cars powered exclusively by electricity. It’s designed to promote interest and investment in electric vehicles and sustainable motoring.

The series will feature 10 teams competing in one-hour races using Formula cars capable of reaching speeds of more than 135 mph with zero emissions.

Six teams have been signed for the first season, including Andretti Autosport, the first U.S. team to join, China Racing, and British-based Drayson Racing. The deal includes exclusive and non-exclusive online and mobile transmission rights.

The races begin in September 2014. Los Angeles and Miami are among the 10 cities on the schedule.

Fox and IMSA inked a five-year deal that solidifies United SportsCar Racing’s home on television through the 2018 season. The new series includes the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series and the American Le Mans Series and will be sanctioned by IMSA.

The 2014 schedule is still being finalized.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide