- The Washington Times - Saturday, February 2, 2013

NEW ORLEANS — Washington Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III was named the AP Offensive Rookie of the Year Saturday evening, earning recognition for his record-setting play in a season that featured several dynamic first-year quarterbacks in the NFL.

Griffin accepted the award at the NFL Honors show, his first public appearance since undergoing surgery on Jan. 9 to revise the reconstruction of the ACL and repair the torn lateral collateral ligament in his right knee.

Griffin strode quite smoothly, barely limping if at all, down the red carpet before the show.

Asked if he would be ready to play in September, he said: “No doubt in my mind.”

Griffin received 29 votes from the media panel, beating out Indianapolis Colts quarterback Andrew Luck (11 votes) and Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson (10).

In other AP awards, Carolina Panthers linebacker Luke Kuechly was named Defensive Rookie of the Year, Indianapolis Colts interim coach Bruce Arians was voted Coach of the Year, Houston Texans end J.J. Watt was named Defensive Player of the Year and Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson was named Offensive Player of the Year.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide