- Associated Press - Tuesday, April 1, 2014

HARRISBURG, Pa. (AP) - The cost to get a driver’s license, a certificate of title and a range of other records became more expensive Tuesday in Pennsylvania as the first motorist and vehicle fee increases took effect under a major transportation funding law Gov. Tom Corbett signed in November.

Under the law, fuel taxes and motorist fines and fees are rising to boost the state Department of Transportation’s spending on highways, bridges and mass transit by about $2.3 billion a year, or 40 percent.

Fines for moving violations and disobeying a traffic control device went up in January. A wholesale fuel tax also rose in January, and it is scheduled to rise again in 2015 and 2017.

Tuesday’s increases included driver’s licenses doubling to $27.50, certificates of title rising from $22.50 to $50, driver and vehicle information requests from $5 to $8, certified records from $10 to $30 and manufacturer and dealer notifications from $3 to $5.

More motorist and vehicle fees will rise on July 1 and next January 1. Some fees also will be subject to inflationary adjustments every two years after July 1, 2015.

Supporters of the law have said it was an effort to respond to years of studies that said Pennsylvania’s spending on its extensive highway system, aging bridges and deficit-strapped mass transit agencies was woefully inadequate and threatened economic growth and safety. Opponents objected that it was the second-largest tax increase in state history.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide