- Associated Press - Thursday, April 10, 2014

NORMAN, Okla. (AP) - Five people are scheduled for induction into the Chickasaw Nation Hall of Fame next month.

The ceremony is May 1 at the Riverwind Showplace Theater in Norman.

The inductees are Chickasaw storyteller and fluent speaker Irene L. Digby of Davis; retired Army National Guard Master Sgt. Marvin Mitchell of Fitzhugh and physician James Wilburn Hampton of Oklahoma City.

Also to be inducted are Chickasaw educator Silas C. Wolf, Jr. of Norman and Chickasaw Ambassador Charles Blackwell. Blackwell will be honored posthumously.

Chickasaw Nation Gov. Bill Anoatubby, who will also attend, says the inductees have made significant contributions to the tribe and the larger community.

He says their commitment to sharing tribal history, culture and history epitomizes the spirit and perseverance of the Chickasaw people.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide