- Associated Press - Tuesday, April 15, 2014

DREW, Miss. (AP) - Three candidates will be on the ballot Tuesday in a new election for mayor of Drew.

Polls will open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

Harvey Burchfield, Jeffrey Kilpatrick and John Thigpen will be on the ballot.

The new election was scheduled after Kilpatrick filed a protest after the election in June 2013. In that race, Burchfield received 18 more votes than Kilpatrick. Kilpatrick argued were problems with affidavit ballots.

All affidavit ballots were counted in the final vote tally as certified by the election commissioners.

Circuit Judge Samac Richardson ruled in favor of Kilpatrick and ordered a new election.

Richardson ruled because of the multiple irregularities and the number of illegal votes counted put the will of the voters in question.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide