- Associated Press - Saturday, April 19, 2014

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) - Birhanu Tadesee won the Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon on Saturday in 2 hours, 17 minutes, 54 seconds.

In near-perfect weather, the Washington, D.C., resident won by nearly three minutes over Getachew Asfaw of Silver Spring, Md. Joseph Amenya of Grand Prairie, Texas, was third.

Tezata Dengersa of Washington, D.C., won the women’s division in 2:43:51. Stephanie Telek of Dayton, Ohio, was second in 2:53:38, and Anya Martinez of Louisville was third.

Australian Trent Morrow prepared for Monday’s Boston Marathon by finishing in 5:17:16, placing 1,746th. The Guinness World Record holder for most marathons in a year will run his 200th race since Jan. 1, 2013, and 165th in the past 365 days.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide