By Associated Press - Saturday, April 26, 2014

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - KATV, an ABC affiliate in Little Rock, won the television sweepstakes award in the 2013 Arkansas Associated Press Broadcasters Association contest.

The award and others were announced the group’s annual awards luncheon Saturday. The contest entries were judged by AP broadcasters in Maryland and Delaware.

The winner of the sweepstakes award is determined by how many awards each station wins across the contest’s 14 categories and a points system that gives more weight to winning the Newscast category and a first place in any other category versus second place.

No sweepstakes award is given in the radio contest.

In both the television and radio contests, all of the state’s broadcasters compete against each other regardless of market size.



NEWSCAST: 1, Greg Shepperd, KHBS-KHOG, December 17th Newscast; 2, Martha Myrick, Staff, KTHV, September 5th 6pm Newscast; Chris Scott, Staff, KATV, Little Rock, Live at 5.

SPOT NEWS: 1, Staff, KATV, Storm Damage; 2, Staff, KTHV, Winter Blast 12/6 2013.

NON-SPOT NEWS: 1, Staff, KTHV, Bass Pro Opening Day; 2, Alyson Courtney, Marcus McDonald, KATV, Hospice Care; Honorable Mention, Erin Hawley, Richard Newman, KATV, Remembering Drew Melton.

ENTERPRISE OR INVESTIGATIVE: 1, Elicia Dover, Chato Wilson, KATV, 3D Printed Gun; 2, Ashley Blackstone, Bre Conyers, KTHV, Pet Flipping.

ELECTIONS/POLITICS: 1, Jason Pederson, Staff, KATV, There Oughta Be a Law; 2, Ben Wagner, KHBS-KHOG, Rogers, Liquor Permits.

FEATURE: 1, Dustin Wilson, KTHV, Daniel the Dogwalker; 2, Scott Inman, Justin Kroger, KATV, Route 7: Arkansas River Trail; Honorable Mention, Christina Munoz, Kenny Reynolds, KATV, RC Aircraft.

DOCUMENTARY: 1, Erin Hawley, Larry Potter, Justin Kroger, KATV, Spirit of Arkansas in Africa; 2, Joan Early, Kenny Reynolds, KATV, Gettin’ Real with Teens; Honorable Mention, Staff, KTHV, Little Rock, Lives Forever Changed — West Memphis Murders.

CONTINUING COVERAGE: 1, Erin Hawley, Larry Potter, Justin Kroger, KATV, The Spirit of Arkansas in Africa; 2, Jason Pederson, Staff, KATV, Wrongly Incarcerated: Bryant Davis; Honorable Mention, Emily Maher, Ugochi Iloka, Brett Rains, KHBS-KHOG, Scott County Flooding.

SPORTS COVERAGE: 1, Steve Sullivan, Tony Ranchino, KATV, The Great Shabazz; 2, Justin Lewis, Staff, KATV, Will Take Charge; Honorable Mention, Patrick Clark, Mike Jacques, Josh Taylor, KHBS-KHOG, 40/29’s 2013 Razorbacks Football Preview.

SPORTSCAST: 1, Steve Sullivan, KATV, Friday Night Touchdowns; 2, Hayden Balgavy, Mark Edwards, Phil Buck, KTHV, THV Game Night.

WEATHER SEGMENT: 1, Barry Brandt, KATV, Channel 7 Weather; 2, Darby Bybee, KHBS-KHOG, Severe Weather Forecast.

SPOT PHOTOGRAPHY: 1, John Young, KTHV, Benton Police Chase; 2, Stephen Goodale, KHBS-KHOG, Springdale Accident; Honorable Mention, Ernie Hall, KHBS-KHOG, Fort Smith SWAT Standoff.

NON-SPOT PHOTOGRAPHY: 1, Larry Potter, KATV, The Spirit of Arkansas in Africa; 2, Kenny Reynolds, KATV, RC Aircraft.

WEBSITE: 1, Staff, KATV,; 2, Rebekah Carter, KTHV, Little Rock,; Honorable Mention, Allison Wise, KHBS-KHOG,


NEWSCAST: 1, Johnathan Reaves, KASU, Morning Edition Local Newscast; 2, Nathan Vandiver, KUAR, KUAR Newscast: Feb. 26, 2013, 4:32 p.m.; Honorable Mention, Jacob Kauffman, KUAR, KUAR Newscast: Nov. 21, 2013, 5:04 p.m.

BREAKING NEWS: 1, Richard Hester, KTLO, Randy Butler Survives Close Encounter with Tornado; 2, Richard Hester, KTLO, Four Killed in Single Vehicle Accident in Marion County.

ENTERPRISE- FEATURE OR INVESTIGATIVE: 1, Jacob Kauffman, KUAR, Mayflower Residents Express Concerns About Long-Term Health Risks From Oil Spill; 2, Johnathan Reaves, KASU, Blueway Designation Stirs Debate; Honorable Mention, Chris Hickey, KUAR, Arkansas Sees Tide Of New Filmmakers.

USE OF NATURAL SOUND: 1, Chris Hickey, KUAR, National Adoption Day Celebrated, 13 Arkansas Kids Get New Families; 2, Johnathan Reaves, KASU, “Out of the Dark” Rally; Honorable Mention, Michael Hibblen, KUAR, Rosanne Cash Reflects As Opening Of Johnny Cash Boyhood.

WEBSITE: 1, Staff, KUAR, KUAR Website;; 2, Staff, KTLO,

Copyright © 2022 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide