- Associated Press - Tuesday, April 29, 2014

NEW YORK (AP) - The Los Angeles Kings’ Dustin Brown, Anaheim’s Ryan Getzlaf and Chicago’s Jonathan Toews are finalists for the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award.

The NHL announced Tuesday the finalists who exemplify “great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice, during the regular season.”

Messier solicits suggestions from club and league personnel, along with NHL fans, to compile a list of potential candidates. The Hockey Hall of Famer, who captained the New York Rangers to the 1994 Stanley Cup title, will determine who gets the award.

The winner will be announced June 24 in Las Vegas during the NHL Awards show.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide