- Associated Press - Saturday, February 22, 2014

The winners of the 45th annual NAACP Image Awards Saturday night in Los Angeles:


- Motion picture: “12 Years A Slave.”

- Actor in a motion picture: Forest Whitaker, “Lee Daniels’ The Butler.”

- Actress in a motion picture: Angela Bassett, “Black Nativity.”

- Supporting actor in a motion picture: David Oyelowo, “Lee Daniels’ The Butler.”

- Supporting actress in a motion picture: Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years A Slave”

- Directing in a motion picture: Steve McQueen, “12 Years A Slave.”

- Writing in a motion picture: John Ridley, “12 Years A Slave.”

- Independent motion picture: “Fruitvale Station.”

- International motion picture: “War Witch.”

- Documentary: “Free Angela and All Political Prisoners.”


- Drama series: “Scandal.”

- Actor in a drama series: LL Cool J, “NCIS: Los Angeles.”

- Actress in a drama series: Kerry Washington, “Scandal.”

- Supporting actor in a drama series: Joe Morton, “Scandal.”

- Supporting actress in a drama series: Taraji P. Henson, “Person of Interest.”

- Directing in a drama series: Regina King, “Southland.”

- Writing in a drama series: Janine Sherman Barrois, “Criminal Minds.”

- Comedy series: “Real Husbands of Hollywood.”

- Actor in a comedy series: Kevin Hart, “Real Husbands of Hollywood.”

- Actress in a comedy series: Wendy Raquel Robinson, “The Game.”

- Supporting actor in a comedy series: Morris Chestnut, “Nurse Jackie.”

- Supporting actress in a comedy series: Brandy Norwood, “The Game.”

- Directing in a comedy series: Millicent Shelton, “The Hustle.”

- Writing in a comedy series: Vincent Brown, “A.N.T. Farm.”

- Television movie, miniseries or drama special: “Being Mary Jane.”

- Actor in a television movie, miniseries or drama special: Idris Elba, “Luther.”

- Actress in a television movie, miniseries or drama special: Gabrielle Union, “Being Mary Jane.”

- Actor in a daytime drama series: Kristoff St. John, “The Young and the Restless.”

- Actress in a daytime drama series: Tatyana Ali, “The Young and the Restless.”

- Talk series: “Steve Harvey.”

- Reality series: “Iyanla: Fix My Life.”

- Variety series or special: “Black Girls Rock!”

- Documentary: “Richard Pryor: Omit the Logic.”

- Children’s program: “Wynton Marsalis: A YoungArts MasterClass.”

- Performance by a youth in a children’s program: China Anne McClain, “A.N.T. Farm.”

- News series or special: “The African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross with Henry Louis Gates, Jr.”


- Male artist: John Legend.

- Female artist: Beyoncé.

- New artist: K. Michelle.

- Duo, group or collaboration: Robin Thicke featuring T.I. and Pharrell, “Blurred Lines.”

- Song: John Legend, “All Of Me.”

- Album: Charlie Wilson, “Love, Charlie.”

- Jazz album: SFJAZZ Collective, “The Songs of Stevie Wonder.”

- World Music Album: Natalie Cole, “Natalie Cole en Espanol.”

- Gospel album: Tamela Mann, “Best Days Deluxe Edition.”

- Music video: Janelle Monáe featuring Erykah Badu, “Q.U.E.E.N.”


- Fiction: Pamela Samuels Young, “Anybody’s Daughter.”

- Non-fiction: Deborah Willis and Barbara Krauthemer, “Envisioning Emancipation: Black Americans and the End of Slavery.”

- Debut author: Sheri Booker, “Nine Years Under.”

- Biography: Jeanne Theoharis, “The Rebellious Life of Mrs. Rosa Parks.

- Instructional: Robin Quivers, “The Vegucation of Robin: How Real Food Saved My Life.”

- Poetry: Frank X Walker, “Turn Me Loose: The Unghosting of Medgar Evers.”

- Children’s: Kadir Nelson, “Nelson Mandela.”

- Youth: Tanya Lee Stone, “Courage Has No Color, The True Story of the Triple Nickles: America’s First Black Paratroopers.”


Kevin Hart

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide