- Associated Press - Wednesday, February 5, 2014

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) - The 40 recipients of North Dakota’s Theodore Roosevelt Rough Rider Award, followed by profession and when the award was presented.


Lawrence Welk, musician, August 1961.

Dorothy Stickney, actress, November 1961.

Ivan Dmitri, photographer and painter, April 1962.

Roger Maris, baseball player, January 1964.

Eric Sevareid, journalist, April 1964.

Gen. Harold Johnson, Army chief of staff, April 1965.

Anne Carlsen, teacher and school administrator, September 1966.

Edward Thompson, journalist, April 1968.

Robert Bahmer, U.S. archivist, July 1970.

Louis L’Amour, author, May 1972.

Bertin Gamble, businessman, October 1972.

Casper Oimoen, Olympic skier, February 1973.

Peggy Lee, actress and singer, May 1975.

Harold Schafer, businessman, July 1975.

Era Bell Thompson, journalist, August 1976.

Dr. Leon Jacobson, cancer researcher, October 1976.

Elizabeth Bodine, former American Mother of the Year, July 1979.

Phyllis Frelich, actress, April 1981.

Cliff “Fido” Purpur, hockey player, May 1981.

Gen. David C. Jones, chairman of Joint Chiefs of Staff, May 1982.

Ronald Davies, federal judge, June 1987.

Phil Jackson, NBA basketball player and coach, July 1992.

Larry Woiwode, author, October 1992.

Angie Dickinson, actress, December 1992.

Rev. Richard Halverson, U.S. Senate chaplain, March 1994.

Brynhild Haugland, state legislator, March 1995.

Adm. William Owens, vice chairman of Joint Chiefs of Staff, January 1996.

Carl Ben Eielson, pilot, August 1997.

Warren Christopher, U.S. secretary of state, June 1998.

Bobby Vee, musician, June 1999.

Chester Reiten, television executive and founder of Norsk Hostfest, October 2002.

Thomas Clifford, University of North Dakota president, November 2002.

Sister Thomas Welder, University of Mary president, May 2004.

Harry J. Pearce, attorney and General Motors Corp. executive, August 2004.

Bill Marcil, president of Forum Communications Co. of Fargo, May 2006.

Woodrow Wilson Keeble, teacher and war hero, July 2008.

Doug Burgum, software executive, November 2009.

Ronald Offutt, agribusiness leader, September 2011.

Louise Erdrich, author, April 2013.

Herman Stern, businessman, March 2014.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide