- Associated Press - Wednesday, January 15, 2014

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) - Two Nebraska high school students have been selected to this year’s U.S. Senate Youth Program in Washington.

U.S. Sens. Mike Johanns and Deb Fischer say Robert Larsen, of Papillion, and Joseph Zach, of Omaha, have been selected for the program and will each receive a $5,000 scholarship. The two students will be in the country’s capital March 8-16 to study the American governing system.

Larsen attends Papillion-LaVista South High School and serves as the Student Council vice president, class treasurer, speech captain, newspaper copy chief, and is a member of the National Honor Society.

Zach attends Skutt Catholic High School and serves as a member of the Student Council, is involved in Future Business Leaders of America and is a member of the National Honor Society.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide