By Associated Press - Friday, January 17, 2014

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (AP) - Auburn’s Gus Malzahn has been named national coach of the year by the Over the Mountain Touchdown Club.

The Birmingham group announced the winner Friday. Malzahn led Auburn to a 12-2 record and into the BCS championship game against Florida State in his debut season.

The Tigers’ turnaround from a 3-9 season matched the biggest in FBS history.

The other finalists were Duke’s David Cutcliffe, Baylor’s Art Briles, Michigan State’s Mark Dantonio and Florida State’s Jimbo Fisher.

The winner is chosen by the touchdown club and members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.

It’s the fifth time the award has been presented. Former Auburn coach Gene Chizik won in 2010.

Bowden, a former Florida State coach, will present the award on March 2.

Copyright © 2022 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide