- Associated Press - Wednesday, March 19, 2014

The Associated Press Class D basketball All-State team, as selected by a panel of 11 Michigan sports writers:


Evan Kraatz, Allen Park Inter-City Baptist, 5-11, Sr., Player of the Year

Kevin Gamble, Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart, 6-6, Sr.

Nick Hincka, Posen, 6-1, Sr.

Lindsey Hunter IV, Southfield Christian, 5-10, Sr.

Travis Vincent, Powers North Central, 6-3, Sr.

Mike Warren, Fruitport Calvary Christian, 6-5, Sr.

Demarco White, Southfield Christian, 6-6, Sr.

Brandon Childress, Baldwin, 6-2, Jr.

Joey Duncan, Cedarville, 6-0, Jr.

David Loney, Frankfort, 6-4, Jr.

Marcus Matelski, Boyne Falls, 6-2, So.



Pat Theisen, Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart


SPECIAL MENTION (nominees receiving two or more votes from the 11-member panel):

Tyler Brown, Burton Faith; Bradley Brittingham, Colon; Jordan Terry, Lansing Christian; Nick Robak, Waterford Our Lady of the Lake; Brett Maser, Au-Gres; Denny Hall, Bellaire



Reggie Manville, Frankfort


HONORABLE MENTION (nominees receiving one or no votes from the 11-member panel):

Rob Granquist, Powers North Central; Keenan Lampinen, Carney-Nadeau; Marlo Brown, Southfield Christian; Kyle Abrego, Peck; Dalton Trefil, Fulton Middleton; Brooks Hyble, Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart; Griffin Lewis, Morrice; Noah Morse, Mackinaw City; Mason VanPamel, Hillman; Kris Crosby, Traverse City Christian; Logan Mikesell, Suttons Bay; Aaron Orban, Suttons Bay; Reilly Merrill, Bear Lake; Ben Feliczak, Manistee Catholic Central; Jeff Hilliard, Kentwood West Michigan Lutheran; Ahmad Hunter, Wyoming Potter’s House Christian; Alex Hunter, Wyoming Potter’s House Christian; Justin Jergens, Marcellus Howardsville Christian; Alex Doyle, Battle Creek St. Philip; DeShawn Brooks, Detroit Westside Christian; Tilmen Thompson, Flint Madison


Dave Duncan, Cedarville


Voting panel:

Jason Schmitt, The Oakland Press (Pontiac); Dick Hoekstra, Lansing State Journal; Tom Markowski, The Detroit News; James Cook, Traverse City Record-Eagle; Nate Schneider, Morning Sun (Mount Pleasant); Eric Woodyard, MLive-Flint; Tim Robinson, Livingston County Press & Argus (Howell); Corky Emrick, Sturgis Journal; Steve Kaminski, MLive-Grand Rapids; Mark Opfermann, MLive-Muskegon; George Pohly, The Macomb Daily (Mount Clemens)

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide