- Associated Press - Wednesday, March 19, 2014

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) - Several Republicans in the North Carolina Senate are taking new leadership roles this spring as colleagues have resigned or plan to retire at year’s end.

Senate leader Phil Berger announced Wednesday that Sens. Kathy Harrington of Gastonia and Brent Jackson on Sampson County are now two of the chamber’s chief budget-writers.

They will join Sens. Neal Hunt of Raleigh and Sen. Harry Brown of Jacksonville as co-chairs of the Senate Appropriations Committee. Hunt isn’t running for re-election, and former budget co-chairman Pete Brunstetter resigned in December.

With the changes, Sens. Stan Bingham of Denton, Shirley Randleman of Wilkesboro and Wesley Meredith of Fayetteville are taking new roles as co-chairs of budget subcommittees. Sen. Bill Rabon of Southport also was reappointed transportation committee co-chairman.

The General Assembly session begins in May.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide