- Associated Press - Sunday, March 2, 2014

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Mark Chepses and Leah Thorvilson have captured the 2014 Little Rock Marathon titles.

Chepses captured his fourth title in the event’s men’s division Sunday. From West Des Moines, Iowa, Chepses came across the finish line first with a time of two hours and 25.45 minutes.

Thorvilson won for the fifth time in eight races in the women’s division. From Little Rock, Thorvilson finished in two hours and 42.39 minutes.

The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette reports https://bit.ly/1kogLAS that the 11th version of the event featured around 11,000 runners from all 50 states and 41 countries.

The race on a cold, rainy morning proved to be tougher for all involved, as runners’ times were slower than in the 2013 race. Chepses’ 2013 winning time was six minutes faster than this year’s race.


Information from: Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, https://www.arkansasonline.com

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide