- Associated Press - Saturday, March 22, 2014

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) - Morrey Thomas, publisher of the News and Press in Darlington, is the new president of the South Carolina Press Association.

Thomas was elected at the group’s annual meeting Saturday in Columbia.

Judi Mundy Burns, publisher of the Index-Journal of Greenwood, was elected daily newspaper vice president; and Ellen Priest, president and publisher of The Star in North Augusta and the Aiken Standard as weekly newspaper vice president.

Mike Smith, executive editor of the Herald-Journal in Spartanburg, was chosen as treasurer.

Thomas succeeds Jack Osteen, publisher of The Sumter Item.

Elected to two-year terms on the SCPA Executive Committee were: P.J. Browning, president and publisher of The Post and Courier in Charleston; Braden Bunch, senior news editor of The Sumter Item; and John Huff, Jr., editor in chief of the Independent Mail in Anderson.

Re-elected for continuing terms on the SCPA executive committee were: Barbara Ball, publisher of TheVoice of Blythewood and Fairfield County; Dan Cook, editor of the Free Times in Columbia; and Jane Pigg, publisher of The Link in Cheraw.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide