- Associated Press - Wednesday, March 26, 2014

NEW YORK (AP) - Authors based everywhere from Israel to the Caribbean received Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards for work that champions diversity.

The nonprofit Cleveland Foundation announced Wednesday that Anthony Marra’s “A Constellation of Vital Phenomena” received the fiction prize and Adrian Matejka (Mah-‘TEE-kah) won for poetry for “The Big Smoke,” a collection of verse about boxer Jack Johnson. Israeli columnist Ari Shavit’s “My Promised Land” was honored for nonfiction. Lifetime achievement awards were given to Guyanese author Sir Wilson Harris and Caribbean writer George Lamming.

Previous Anisfield-Wolf winners include the Rev Martin Luther King Jr., Toni Morrison and Nadine Gordimer.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide