- Associated Press - Tuesday, March 4, 2014

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (AP) - Davidson forward De’Mon Brooks was named Southern Conference player of the year.

Brooks led the Wildcats with 18.4 points and seven rebounds a game this year. He won the honor in voting by both league coaches and media.

Brooks, the league’s player of the year in 2011-12, joins East Tennessee State’s Keith Jennings and fellow Wildcat Stephen Curry as the only players to win the coaches’ player of the year more than once.

Coaches and media split on the other league honors.

Southern Conference coaches picked Chattanooga forward Z. Mason as the top defender, UNCG guard Tevon Saddler as top freshman and Wofford’s Mike Young as top coach. League media voted for Samford guard Isaiah Williams as freshman of the year and Chattanooga’s Will Wade as coach of the year.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide