- Associated Press - Monday, May 12, 2014

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The six members of Arkansas’ congressional delegation have written a letter to President Barack Obama and the Federal Emergency Management Agency in support of a disaster declaration request from Gov. Mike Beebe.

Sens. Mark Pryor and John Boozman and Reps. Rick Crawford, Tim Griffin, Steve Womack and Tom Cotton joined in signing the letter sent Monday. Pryor is a Democrat while the other members of the delegation are Republicans.

Beebe has asked that Clay, Cleburne, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Randolph, Sharp, Faulkner and White counties be added to the disaster declaration as a result of April 27 storms that produced a tornado blamed for 16 deaths.

Pulaski, Faulkner, Randolph and White counties were previously declared disaster areas.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide