- Associated Press - Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Carlos Tevez was left off Argentina’s preliminary 30-man World Cup roster.

The 30-year-old forward is third in Serie A with 19 goals to help Juventus win the Italian league title as his team’s top scorer. He has 21 goals in all competitions this year and 13 goals in 64 international appearances.

Alejandro Sabella has not selected Tevez since becoming coach in 2011, relying on Ezequiel Lavezzi and Rodrigo Palacio as backups to Lionel Messi, Gonzalo Higuain and Sergio Aguero.

“I am sorry I had to leave out good players,” Sabella said Tuesday, without mentioning names.

Sabella also bypassed Inter Milan midfielder Esteban Cambiasso but included Manchester City defender Martin Demichelis, who hasn’t played for the national team in two years.

Sergio Romero remains Sabella’s first-choice goalkeeper, even though he’s not a regular starter for Monaco. Catania’s Mariano Andujar and Boca Juniors’ Agustin Orion are Romero’s backup.

Boca Juniors midfielder Fernando Gago was selected despite injuring a left knee ligament last month in the Argentine league.

Rosters must be cut to 23 by June 2.

The roster:

Goalkeepers: Mariano Andujar (Catania, Italy), Agustin Orion (Boca Juniors), Sergio Romero (Monaco)

Defenders: Jose Basanta (Monterrey, Mexico), Hugo Campagnaro (Inter Milan, Italy), Martin Demichelis (Manchester City, England), Federico Fernandez (Napoli, Italy), Ezequiel Garay (Benfica, Portugal), Lisandro Lopez (Getafe, Spain), Gabriel Mercado (River Plate), Nicolas Otamendi (Atletico Mineiro, Brazil), Marcos Rojo (Sporting Lisbon, Portugal), Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City, England)

Midfielders: Ricardo Alvarez (Inter Milan, Italy), Ever Banega (Newell’s Old Boys), Lucas Biglia (Lazio, Italy), Angel Di Maria (Real Madrid, Spain), Augusto Fernandez (Celta Vigo, Spain), Fernando Gago (Boca Juniors), Javier Mascherano (Barcelona, Spain), Enzo Perez (Benfica, Portugal), Fabian Rinaudo (Catania, Italy), Maxi Rodriguez (Newell’s Old Boys), Jose Sosa (Atletico Madrid, Spain)

Forwards: Sergio Aguero (Manchester City, England), Franco Di Santo (Werder Bremen, Germany), Gonzalo Higuain (Napoli, Italy), Ezequiel Lavezzi (Paris Saint-Germain, France), Lionel Messi (Barcelona, Spain), Rodrigo Palacio (Inter Milan, Italy)

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide