- Associated Press - Thursday, May 22, 2014

HONOLULU (AP) - The Department of Land and Natural Resources is reminding boaters Hawaii’s new mandatory boater education law will be enforced in six months.

Starting Nov. 10, all individuals who operate a motorized vessel in Hawaii state waters must have taken a boating safety course and be able to show proof of certification.

Violators face fines of up to $1,000 and prison terms of up to 30 days. A court may also prevent a violator from operating a vessel for up to 30 days.

A study released by the National Association of Boating Law Administrators in 2007 showed states with the longest history of mandatory education had the lowest boating fatality rates.

Hawaii had the second-highest fatality rate in the nation in 2011.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide