- Associated Press - Monday, May 26, 2014

RABAT, Morocco (AP) - Morocco’s Moghreb Tetouan has qualified for FIFA’s Club World Cup as the host team after clinching only its second league title.

Moghreb Tetouan won the Moroccan league on Sunday over Raja Casablanca by beating Renaissance Berkane in their final game of the season. Defending champion Raja lost to Olympique Safi, giving Moghreb the title on the last day and a place in the Club World Cup as champion of the host country.

Morocco will stage the seven-team world club championship from Dec. 10-20.

Moghreb joins newly-crowned European champions Real Madrid, which won the Champions League on Saturday. CONCACAF club champions Cruz Azul of Mexico and Oceania’s Auckland City of New Zealand also have qualified.

They will be joined by the champions of South America, Asia and Africa.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide