- Associated Press - Saturday, May 31, 2014

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. (AP) - Public radio stations WRVO in Oswego and WBFO in Buffalo and Elmira’s WENY-TV have won the top awards in the New York State Associated Press Association’s annual news awards competition.

WRVO and WBFO each had seven first-place winners to earn a share of the NYSAPA’s Steve Flanders Award, given to the radio station with the most first-place awards in the competition for news stories aired during the previous calendar year.

WENY had six first-place winners to take home the grand prize in the television competition for the third straight year. WNBC in New York City and Buffalo’s WIVB each won four first-place awards in the TV competition.

GOP seeks to 'smear' Hunter Biden by calling him as impeachment witness: Nadler
Thousands rally in Virginia's capital for gun rights
Trump asks nation to pray over his impeachment, says he's done nothing wrong

WCBS-AM in New York City also had four first-place awards.

The awards were presented Saturday night during the NYSAPA’s annual broadcast banquet in Saratoga Springs.

Other winners of multiple first-place awards in the radio competition included WFUV in the Bronx, WXXI in Rochester and WSLU in Canton with three apiece and WHAM in Rochester and New York City’s WNYC and WINS with two each.

In the TV competition, multiple first-place finishers included WKTV in Utica and Time Warner Cable News in Syracuse with three each and Albany’s WRGB and News 12 on Long Island with two apiece. The TWCN stations in the Hudson Valley and Albany also each won two first-place awards.

Chuck Todd, the political director of NBC News, was the keynote speaker at the banquet.

For the first time, the AP’s New York state newspaper and broadcast associations held their awards ceremonies on the same day at the same location. The newspaper and broadcast boards also agreed to merge and work together on training on subjects of mutual interest. The newly merged NYSAPA will conduct an Electronic Journalism Workshop on Oct. 25 at Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide