- Associated Press - Tuesday, May 6, 2014

PIERRE, S.D. (AP) - A group of four police officers from Yankton have received the first ever South Dakota Police Officer of the Year award.

The South Dakota Police Chiefs Association has presented the award to Officers Jeremy McNinch, Monty Rothenberger and Rob Buechler and Corporal Brad Parker of the Yankton Police Department.

The men rescued a woman from the Missouri River.

They were honored for saving a life at personal risk to themselves.

The association created the award for law enforcement officers below the rank of chief, sheriff or director who demonstrate the ideals of the industry.

Federal and city officers were nominated for this year’s award.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide