- Associated Press - Friday, May 9, 2014

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. (AP) - The first jockey to win the Preakness three times and an elite racehorse from the 1890s have been elected to the National Museum of Racing Hall of Fame by the Historic Review Committee.

Lloyd Hughes, who was born in Wales in 1857, made his riding debut in the United States in 1872 at Monmouth Park and quickly rose to stardom by winning the Preakness in 1875, 1879 and 1880. He also won the Belmont Stakes and Travers in both 1878 and 1880, as well as the Jerome Handicap three straight times from 1878-80. Hughes died in New York in 1925.

Clifford was foaled in Tennessee in 1890 at W. H. Jackson’s Belle Meade Stud and raced from 1892 through 1897, compiling a record of 42-10-8 in 62 starts and purse earnings of $65,143, finishing out of the money only twice. He was owned by Clifford Porter, who named him, and later Eugene Leigh and Robert L. Rose, and was trained by Charles H. Hughes, Leigh, and John W. Rogers.

Hughes and Clifford will be Inducted Aug. 8, along with Ashado, Curlin, Gary Jones and Alex Solis, who were all elected in April.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide