- Associated Press - Wednesday, October 15, 2014

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) - Six people will receive North Carolina’s highest civilian honor next month, including the former director of the state Museum of Natural Sciences, who will be honored for public service.

Gov. Pat McCrory will present the North Carolina Awards on Nov. 13 in Durham.

Recipients include Dr. Betsy Bennett, who led the N.C. Museum of Natural Sciences as it became the state’s most visited museum and supervised the opening of the Nature Research Center in 2012.

Other recipients are: Robert Ingram of Durham for public service; Lenard Moore of Raleigh for literature; Dr. Jagdish Narayan of Raleigh for science; Alan Shapiro of Chapel Hill for literature and Ira David Wood III of Raleigh for fine arts.

The N.C. Department of Cultural Resources administers the awards, presented annually since 1964.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide