- Associated Press - Tuesday, January 6, 2015

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Republican James Lankford has joined Oklahoma’s senior senator, Republican Jim Inhofe, as a member of the U.S. Senate.

Lankford, a former member of Congress from Oklahoma’s 5th District, was sworn in Tuesday as the 18th senator from Oklahoma, taking the seat formerly held by Republican Tom Coburn, who retired.

Meanwhile, Inhofe was sworn in to his fourth full term. Inhofe will be serving on the Senate Armed Services Committee and the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee in the 114th Congress.

Former state Sen. Steve Russell is the only new member of Congress from Oklahoma. Russell will join Oklahoma’s all-Republican congressional delegation after being elected to the 5th District seat Lankford vacated. Returning to Congress are Oklahoma Reps. Frank Lucas, Tom Cole, Jim Bridenstine and Markwayne Mullin.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide