- The Washington Times - Sunday, February 28, 2016

Adam McKay and Charles Randolph won the best adapted screenplay Oscar for the Wall Street semi-farce “The Big Short.”

Other nominees were Nick Hornby for the Irish immigration drama “Brooklyn,” Phyllis Nagy for the 1950s lesbian romance “Carol,” Drew Goddard for the space-rescue film “The Martian” and Emma Donoghue for the one-room kidnapping drama “Room.”

All the adapted scripts took the same title as their source, with the exception of “Carol,” which was based on a Patricia Highsmith novel called “The Price of Salt.” Ms. Donoghue was the only nominated writer who also wrote the source material.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide