- Associated Press - Monday, October 3, 2016

ADA, Okla. (AP) - Five Chickasaw Nation officials have been sworn into office after being elected this summer.

Four legislators and one tribal Supreme Court justice took the oath of office Monday at the Chickasaw Nation Community Center.

The officials were elected on July 26.

Legislators Beth Alexander, Lisa Johnson-Billy, Linda Briggs and Tim Colbert were sworn into office, along with Supreme Court Justice Mark Holmes Colbert.

Chickasaw legislators and Supreme Court justices serve three-year terms.

The tribe’s Legislature has 13 members who are elected from the Chickasaw Nation’s four legislative districts: Panola, Pickens, Pontotoc and Tishomingo.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide