- Associated Press - Monday, April 17, 2017

DAYTON, Ohio (AP) - Four air and space pioneers will be enshrined in the National Aviation Hall of Fame in Ohio in a ceremony this fall in Texas.

The Class of 2017 will include Capt. Scott Carpenter, the second American to orbit the Earth and retired Maj. General Charles Bolden Jr., a shuttle astronaut and former NASA Administrator.

Also being inducted are Robert Gilliland, a super-sonic SR-71 program test pilot; and Sir Frank Whittle, the inventor of the revolutionary turbojet engine.

Both Carpenter and Whittle are deceased.

The annual enshrinement ceremony, which was held in Dayton for decades, will take place at the Bell Helicopter Fort Worth Alliance Air Show near Fort Worth, Texas, on Oct. 28.

Hall of Fame officials have said moving the event will help with fundraising.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide