- Associated Press - Wednesday, August 9, 2017

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Gov. Mary Fallin has issued an emergency declaration for four northeastern Oklahoma counties that were affected by tornadoes, severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding last weekend.

The Aug. 5-6 storms damaged more than 170 businesses and homes and 13 people were transported to local hospitals with storm-related injuries.

The counties included in the governor’s declaration are Mayes, Rogers, Tulsa and Wagoner.

Fallin said Wednesday that her executive order authorizes state agencies to make emergency purchases and acquisitions to expedite the delivery of resources to local cities and towns. The declaration is also first step toward seeking federal disaster assistance if necessary.

The declaration can be amended to add additional counties if necessary.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide