- - Sunday, February 12, 2017

I was disappointed that longtime Washington Redskins tackle Joe Jacoby was again overlooked by the Pro Football Hall of Fame (“Redskins great Joe Jacoby does not make Hall of Fame,” Web, Feb. 4). The legendary “Hog,” a four-time Pro Bowler (1983-1986) and three-time Super Bowl champion (XVII, XXII, XXVI), deserves the honor.

Meanwhile, placekicker Morten Andersen’s induction is a reminder that Mark Moseley, too, belongs in the Hall of Fame. In 1982, Mr. Moseley became the only placekicker ever named league MVP when he set NFL records with 23 consecutive field goals made and 95.2 percent converted en route to the Redskins winning Super Bowl XVII over Miami.

During his career, Mr. Moseley made 300 field goals, led the NFL in field goals four times (1976, 1977, 1979, 1982), made the Pro Bowl twice (1979, 1982), and set numerous scoring records. He tied the NFL record for most 50-yard-or-more field goals made in a game (two in 1980 against New Orleans), and kicked the winning field goal in the 1983 NFC Championship Game against the 49ers that sent Washington to Super Bowl XVIII.

Sadly these players are hardly alone in their extraordinary track records. Many others deserve a ‘call from the Hall,’ including quarterbacks Joe Theismann (NFL MVP in 1983), Eddie LeBaron (four-time Pro Bowler) and Billy Kilmer; running back Larry Brown (NFL MVP in 1972); and defensive backs Pat Fischer (56 career interceptions), Brig Owens, Jake Scott, Joe Lavender and Mark Murphy.


San Francisco

Sign up for Daily Opinion Newsletter

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide