- Associated Press - Tuesday, January 10, 2017

NEW YORK (AP) - Rick Bass is up for another short story honor.

Bass’ “For a Little While” is a finalist for the Story Prize, a $20,000 award established in 2004. The other nominees announced Tuesday were Helen Maryles Shankman for “They Were Like Family to Me” and Anna Noyes for the debut collection “Goodnight, Beautiful Women.” The winner will be announced March 8. Previous recipients include Anthony Doerr, George Saunders and Edwidge Danticat.

Bass, 58, has won several O. Henry Awards and Pushcart Prizes for short fiction and was a Story Prize finalist in 2006 for “The Lives of Rocks.”

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide