- Associated Press - Friday, June 30, 2017

MADISON, Wis. (AP) - Gov. Scott Walker says 10 Wisconsin counties have been designated disaster areas because of winterkill and late freezes that hit alfalfa fields.

Farmers in those counties and 13 adjacent counties may be eligible for emergency loans from the USDA Farm Service Agency.

Walker says the aid will help Wisconsin farmers “get back on their feet” and protect them from losses due to damaged crops.

The losses stemmed from the lack of snow cover, which insulates plants from freeze damage.

The 10 counties named as primary disaster areas include Brown, Calumet, Kewaunee, La Crosse, Manitowoc, Monroe, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, and Washington. The 13 adjacent counties include Dodge, Door, Fond du Lac, Jackson, Juneau, Milwaukee, Oconto, Shawano, Trempealeau, Vernon, Waukesha, Waupaca, and Winnebago.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide