- Associated Press - Wednesday, June 7, 2017

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Winners of city elections in Mississippi will begin their four-year terms July 1.

Mayors in Hattiesburg, Ocean Springs and Moss Point were defeated Tuesday, while those in Greenwood and Columbus are among those re-elected.

In Hattiesburg, state Rep. Toby Barker defeated four-term Democratic Mayor Johnny DuPree. Barker serves as a Republican at the Capitol but ran for the city office as an independent. DuPree was the Democratic nominee for governor in 2011.

“It’s an incredibly humbling feeling, for a town like Hattiesburg to put their trust in me to help lead the next four years,” Barker said at an election-night party, according to the Hattiesburg American (https://hatne.ws/2s4DLj7 ).

Republican Shea Dobson, who is a financial planner, defeated three-term Democratic Mayor Connie Moran in Ocean Springs.

In Moss Point, Democrat Mario King, who is working on his doctorate in human capital development, defeated first-term Mayor Billy Broomfield, who ran as an independent. Broomfield previously served as a Democrat in the state House.

Greenwood Mayor Carolyn McAdams, an independent, won a third term.

Columbus Mayor Robert Smith, a Democrat, won a fourth term.

A look at other Mississippi mayoral elections decided Tuesday:

BAY ST. LOUIS - Democrat Mike Favre, who has served on the City Council, was elected mayor. He defeated Mayor Les Fillingame in the party primary last month.

BILOXI - Republican Mayor Andrew “FoFo” Gilich, who won a special election in 2015, was re-elected.

JACKSON - Democrat Chokwe Antar Lumumba won the general election by a wide margin, weeks after defeating first-term Mayor Tony Yarber in the Democratic primary.

MERIDIAN - Democratic Mayor Percy Bland won a second term.

NEW ALBANY - Democratic Mayor Tim Kent won a fourth term.

PASCAGOULA - Dane Maxwell, who has worked 20 years in law enforcement, was elected to succeed Mayor Jim Blevins, a fellow Republican who did not seek re-election.

PHILADELPHIA - Democratic Mayor James Young won a third term.

VICKSBURG -Democratic Mayor George Flaggs Jr. won a second term. He previously served in the state House.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide