- Associated Press - Thursday, May 4, 2017

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Teams of students from the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts have finished first and second in a statewide computer coding competition.

Gov. Asa Hutchinson announced Thursday that Carson Cato, Brandon Cox and Jackson Gregory from the school placed first in the Governor’s All-State Coding Competition and will each receive a $2,000 scholarship. Martin Boerwinkle, Brock Davis and Joe Sartini from the school placed second and each received a $1,000 scholarship.

Mason Brown, Gregory Maddra and Noah Wehn from Springdale Har-Ber High School placed third and each received $500 scholarships. The Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts will also receive a $20,000 award for producing the competition’s winning team.

Verizon contributed $40,000 for the competition and announced it would contribute $50,000 to sponsor the second year.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide