- Associated Press - Monday, November 13, 2017

ORLANDO, Fla. (AP) - The Los Angeles Dodgers and San Diego Padres will play a three-game series at Monterrey, Mexico, from May 4-6.

The games had been originally scheduled for San Diego’s Petco Park, and the shift to Estadio de Beisbol was announced Monday. The Padres will remain the home team.

This will be the third regular-season series in Monterrey. Colorado beat San Diego 8-2 there in Major League Baseball’s season opener on April 4, 1999, and the Padres won two of three games against the New York Mets from Aug. 16-18, 1996.

This is the third shift in games announced for next season. Cleveland and Minnesota will play a two-game series from April 17-18 at San Juan, Puerto Rico, and Philadelphia and the Mets will meet on Aug. 19 at Williamsport, Pennsylvania, near the site of the Little League World Series.

Each player making the Mexico or Puerto Rico trips will receive an additional $15,000. Managers, coaches, trainers and clubhouse staff on each team will split $40,000.


More MLB baseball: https://apnews.com/tag/MLBbaseball

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide