- Associated Press - Monday, October 2, 2017

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) - The U.S. Department of Education has named nine schools in Kentucky as 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

The department announced the awards last week for 342 schools nationwide.

The Kentucky schools are Christ the King School in Lexington, Ezel Elementary School, Graves County Central Elementary School in Mayfield, Holy Trinity Parish School and Norton Elementary School in Louisville, Rich Pond Elementary School in Bowling Green, St. Joseph School in Crescent Springs, Villa Madonna Academy Elementary School in Villa Hills and St. Joseph School in Bardstown.

The program that began in 1982 recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools that are either high-performing or have raised student achievement to high levels.

The schools will be acknowledged at a ceremony in November in Washington, D.C.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide