- Associated Press - Monday, October 2, 2017

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - Farmers in 10 Louisiana parishes are eligible for federal disaster aid because of extreme rainfall this year.

State Agriculture Commissioner Mike Strain on Monday announced the availability of USDA assistance for Concordia, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Madison, St. Helena, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Tensas, Washington and West Feliciana parishes.

Strain says the federal agriculture department determined farmers in those parishes had significant crop loss from “excessive rainfall and flooding.”

Louisiana’s agriculture department says the farmers are eligible to apply for low-interest loans to help cover their losses. Applications must be filed within the next eight months.

Additional information about the federal disaster aid is available online .

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide