- Associated Press - Thursday, October 26, 2017

HONOLULU (AP) - State Legislative leaders have announced their four picks to serve as nonvoting members on the volunteer Honolulu Authority for Rapid Transportation board.

The volunteer board is a provision of the $2.4 billion rail-bailout package lawmakers approved in September, the Honolulu Star-Advertiser reported . State lawmakers added the provision “to ensure the appropriate use of state-authorized funds” to finance the rail.

Senate President Ron Kouchi selected Wesley Machida, the state’s budget and finance director under Gov. David Ige, and Machida’s predecessor, Kalbert Young, who served in that role under former Gov. Neil Abercrombie.

Young is currently University of Hawaii’s vice president for budget and finance and chief financial officer. He also previously served as a state Employees’ Retirement System trustee.

House Speaker Scott Saiki selected two financial executives from the private sector: Tobias Martyn, the vice president of investments at the firm Stifel and previously a senior executive vice president at Bank of Hawaii, and Kamani Kuala’au, a senior vice president at the asset-management firm Atalanta Sosnoff Capital and chairman of the King Lunalilo Trust Estate.


Information from: Honolulu Star-Advertiser, http://www.staradvertiser.com

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide